GL Gent Reviews! The Week of 04/10/13

Hey everyone!

GL_Gent, here. I am back for another set of reviews for this week’s comics from the DC and Marvel Universes. This week I have chosen to review Green Lantern Corps #19, Constantine #2, and Uncanny X-Men #4. Hope you enjoy! Oh yeah…*SPOILERS*…

Image

Cover of Green Lantern Corps #19

Green Lantern Corps #19

Author: Peter J. Tomasi

Penciller: Frenando Pasarin

Inker: Scott Hanna

Rating: 3.2/5

If anyone didn’t know, this is part 10 of Wrath of the First Lantern. I had high hopes for this event because in my opinion, Rise of the Third Army ended on a “Wait…..what?” note. I felt like each comic in that event served to continue the story that was there. This event however has had a few issues that have served almost no purpose at all. This was one of those issues. I do love Peter J. Tomasi. He has done great work on this comic so far, but everyone seems to be waiting for Geoff Johns’ epic finale in next month’s Green Lantern to actually do anything with the comic. This issue only did one thing in my eyes: rallied the corps. I would have to say giving it anywhere near a three was generous. Its saving grace was the art by the team of Pasarin and Hanna. I really appreciate their style and stark colorings. I feel like they created this awesome antagonist in the form of Volthoom and just stuck him doing one singular thing. He should have been wreaking much more havoc but instead he takes his time using his almighty reality bending powers just to drain the different corps members and put them in agonizing situations just to end in issue #20 of Green Lantern. Then, Mogo shows up and for some odd reason he seems to be more powerful than Volthoom. I couldn’t wrap my head around that one. I understand he is a planet but once again REALITY BENDING POWERS! I hope the next issue is mind blowing because if not, this event has disappointed me.

Image

Cover of Constantine #2

Constantine #2

Authors: Jeff Lemire & Ray Fawkes

Artist: Renato Guedes

Rating: 5/5

And the fight continues against the Cult of the Cold Flame in Constantine #2. Constantine is on a quest to find the pieces of the mystical Croydon’s Compass. I love the character Constantine. He is a great anti-hero. Lemire and Fawkes have also done a great job expressing this crass, sarcastic mage. I love the idea that they have created about the bounds of magic and how it takes sacrifice to become powerful. What proved interesting to me though was his conversation with The Spectre. Constantine is known to be a conniving little son of a bitch as seen through the issues of Justice League Dark. I like though that he couldn’t lie to the Spectre and say that the weight of those sacrifices didn’t take their toll. He had to make these sacrifices because who else will. Mister E could also see the guilt in his soul. I think the art is very well done in this comic. It provides the sense of edge that I believe this character and subject needs. It wouldn’t be very impressive if it wasn’t edgy. I mean come on, this is magic and mysticism here, not ponies and rainbows. I am excited to see how this comic will continue to grow and wow me in the future. Keep on chugging Lemire, Fawkes, and Guedes. You have my attention.

Image

Cover of Uncanny X-Men #4

Uncanny X-Men #4

Author: Brian Michael Bendis

Artist: Chris Bachalo

Rating: 5/5

And once again Bendis leaves nothing whatsoever to question. Praise be to Bendis for he is the righteous warrior of Marvel’s pen. Back to the serious part, though. This has been fun reading these X-Men comics. I always loved the X-Men as a team and when I learned what the comic was really about going back to its roots, it made me appreciate it more. Once again, Bendis infuses the necessary comedy to make these characters more relatable even though, we as readers could never imagine what these characters are truly going through. He is ushering these new mutants in with style as well. He clearly portrays the struggles of being a mutant in a world where everyone hates mutants. Damn this prejudice. They’re just jealous they don’t have bad ass gold ball spawning powers…….yeah….I like what he did with those creepy Stepford Sister triplets finding out about Emma’s powers. *shudder* Sorry they give me the creeps. I liked how Chris Bachalo portrayed this with the characters being the only ones in color. And of course Bendis had to throw in that “What The Fuck” moment with the happenings to Magik or, as she is known by her human name, Illyana. This has been a great read and I always look forward to more Brian Michael Bendis.

Leave a Reply

